Why I wouldn’t go out with guys that say I’m gorgeous

Let me clarify this. I wouldn’t go out with guys if one of the first few things that they say to me is that I am pretty or gorgeous. While I still take these comments as compliments, I simply don’t want to go out with a guy who notices or cares more about how I look than how I act, think and feel. Similarly to Lisa Bloom’s “How to Talk to Little Girls” where she discusses how little girls shouldn’t be told that they are cute, I don’t feel that grown women, nor men for that matter should be greeted with compliments about their appearance by people that have never met them before. It places a very real societal pressure that people are judging you solely based on your appearance and your looks therefore are of utmost importance to maintain and improve.

That being said, I don’t feel it’s a bad thing to compliment people that you know or see frequently occasionally on how they look.

One thought on “Why I wouldn’t go out with guys that say I’m gorgeous

  1. i agree with your thoughts… greeting people with comments on their looks probably isn’t the best idea. i am definitely guilty though. thanks for the food for thought!

Leave a Reply

